Tuesday’s Gone


Tuesday’s Gone de Nicci French

447 pages, 22,10€


Résumé : Nicci French, the bestselling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with Top Ten Bestseller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James’ Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks series will love central character psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime.For Frieda Klein the days get longer, the cases darker . . .Psychotherapist Frieda Klein thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door.A man’s decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don’t know who it is, how he got there or what happened – and Michelle can’t tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion.Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole’s past, the more of his victims they encounter – and the more motives they find for murder. Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda’s own past are returning to threaten her.Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free – and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate. A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday’s Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers. ‘Nicci French knows just how to play on our worst fears’ Daily MailNicci French is the pseudonym for Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple live in Suffolk and have written twelve other bestselling novels including Beneath the Skin and Blue Monday, the first thrilling instalment in the Frieda Klein series.


Extrait « There had been minutes that had become hours, and hours that had been like a desert with no horizon.

Mon avis : This book is the follow-up of the adventures of Frida Klein, which succeeds to Blue Monday (that I have don’t yet read). But I think that the story could be read without to have read the first story – it’s like what I do, and I had understood the story.

One day, a psychotherapist discovers a man, naked and death, with one finger missing, in the room of her patient. An investigation is open to discover who is this man, why and how is death. The patient, Michelle Doyce, suffers of an mental disease and cannot give practicals answers to their questions. Frida Klein will going to work with the inspectors to resolve this mysterious case.

I confess that I took many times to read and finish this book, because it don’t attract me. The story was soooo long, there are so many details, the story miss structure and pace, and I was bored with these characters. In my opinion, the story was all over the place, the characters was too many, and that’s the reason why I was lost in this story, and my attention was faltered.

I’m disappointed with this book, but this don’t stop me to read another books in English in the future !


Ma note : 3/10

Pour lire plus d’avis

 

Missing you


Missing you de Harlan Coben

399 pages, éditions Orion Books, à £13,99


Résumé : It’s a profile like all the others on the online dating site. But as NYPD Detective Kat Donovan focuses on the accompanying picture, she feels her whole world explode. Staring back at her is her ex-fiancé Jeff, the man who shattered her heart and who she hasn’t seen in eighteen years.

Kat feels a spark, wondering if this might be the moment when past tragedies recede and a new world opens up to her. But when she reaches out to the man in the profile, her reawakened hope quickly darkens into suspicion and then terror as an unspeakable conspiracy comes to light, in which monsters prey upon the most vulnerable.

Soon Kat is consumed by an investigation that challenges her feelings about everyone she has ever loved – her former fiancé, her mother, and even her father, whose cruel murder so long ago has never been fully explained. With lives on the line, including her own, Kat must venture deeper into the darkness than she ever has before, and discover if she has the strength to survive what she finds there.


Mon avis : I’m so proud to have finished my second reading in English : a thriller by the master Harlan Coben – and I’m particularly enjoy to read this author because it’s figure many years that I don’t read one of these books. I think this second readings all in English was more difficult than the first, The Other Woman, because it’s a thriller with many details, mysteries and proofs that often it’s difficult to see.

Kat Donovan is a NYPD detective, and whereas she was in a dating site name YouAreJustMyType, she discovered her ex-fiancé Jeff that she loved yet. She begins to contact him, but Jeff seems to don’t recognize Kat. It’s very strange, and it’s disappoint Kat. Few days after, Kat meets Brandon, a little guy who is panicked because his mother is missing, but nobody wants to believe him – because his mother is an adult, and she can doing what she wants to do. But Kat takes the case of Brandon with serious, and what she and Brandon what they are going to discover is a big case of kidnapping and extraction of money.

I think this story is great. Like it’s a reading in English – and like my English is not perfect – I have many difficulties to understand all without traduction, and that’s the reason why I must to cut often the history to translate. I don’t feels the intensity and the pression of the story, but I hope that I could feels these in my next English readings.

What I take from this story is the danger of the dating site. Because nobody can understand who is the person which speak with us. Like the case of this story, this person is a pervert who stole an identity to achieve his goals. Unfortunately, this kind of stuffs is common in our world, and that’s why they are many warnings about the dangers of Internet.


A good thriller, with many suspenses which arrive to capture the reader from the beginning until the end. Harlan Coben is truly a good writer !

Ma note : 6/10

Pour lire plus d’avis

The Other Woman


The Other Woman by Jane Green

438 pages, at £10,99


Summary : Ellie and Dan are living proof that opposites attract. He always follows instructions and she throws the manual away. He loves sports whereas Ellie’s allergic to any form of exercise. Ellie doesn’t have a mother. And Dan does – a mother who wants to take over… EVERYTHING.

At first Ellie is thrilled to have Linda as her « adopted » mother and to be a part of the close, loving Cooper family. But when she and Dan decide to get married and wedding plans progress, she starts to wonder : is it normal for Linda and Dan to speak on the phone twice a day ? How on earth do they come to be having a reception with Chilean bloody seabass and humongous bloody white ribbons tied everywhere when all she wanted was a quiet register office do ?

In fact, is she marrying Dan… OR HIS MOTHER ?

And Ellie’s problems have just began. When she discovers she’s pregnant she realizes that Linda’s only been rehearsing for the real takeover. She seems to want to live her life through Ellie, and in the words of the immortal Princess Diana, there are three of them in the marriage…


My opinion : That is my first chronic in English, so I hope you will be lenient with me.

For my first reading in English, I choose an easy book to read in English, without many complicating words : The Other Woman by Jane Green, a chick-lit novel. It tells the love story between Ellie and Dan, a young couple, which decided to get married together. But the only thing that Ellie didn’t know, it’s that Linda, the mother of Dan, wants to control every aspects of their marriage, like this is it’s her own marriage and not that one of Ellie and Dan. After the marriage, Ellie throw pregnant, and Linda continues to be omnipresent in their life. It’s too much for Ellie. Whereas to beginning of their relationship she loved Linda, now she thinks Linda crosses the lines.

I think it’s a slight story like I love. The Other Woman describes a real life that many other women can lives. I have often hear to talk about the mothers-in-laws are very nasty with their daughters-in-laws, in the sense where they love so much their sons that they don’t want to give him to an another woman. They are so possessive, and intrusive, and this novel going to the sense of this cliché.

Like many relationships, that of Ellie and Dan is not all the time pink and great. There are many ups and downs, many beautiful moments, but many disagreements too. A couple is not agree together all the time. I have like so much this story because it shows the reality of a couple, and not a cliché or an utopic love story.

I would like to have the follow-up of the adventures of Ellie, Dan, Tom, Linda and the others characters. Like I have took many times to read this book (my first reading in English, I prefer to remind), I have be attached to all of us, and I would like very much to understand what they are become.


A great romance, which will make you pass a good moments. 

Ma note : 6,5/10

Pour lire plus d’avis